Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship


Write about civic courage.

Win a $5,000 scholarship.

Who is your local hero?


The Seattle Public Library Foundation is pleased to announce the Stimson Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship Competition. Students who will enroll in an accredited college by October 1, 2015 and who live, work or attend school in Seattle are invited to participate.

The competition asks students to write an essay about an individual or group of individuals from Washington state who have demonstrated civic courage on an issue of importance to the community at great personal, political or professional risk.

Essays must be submitted online between January 1 – March 31, 2015. Winners will be announced in early June 2015. Winning essays will be added to the collection in the Hugh and Jane Ferguson Seattle Room at The Seattle Public Library.

1st Place: $5,000 scholarship

2nd Place: Two $2,500 scholarships

Join our event on Facebook to invite others to participate and ask any questions you have about the contest.


Thanks to our many leading historians and authors who have agreed to act as judges and evaluate submissions, including our blue ribbon scholarship judges:

Research Assistance
Research assistance is available from librarians at The Seattle Public Library at all 27 library locations.

Other resources:
Special Collections at The Seattle Public Library
University of Washington Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project